Looking to lighten up your day? Here are some one-of-a-kind crimes and odd-ball laws from New Jersey history. A few are unbelievable while others just make you wonder what was going through their minds. Enjoy!
Bacon vs. Sausage
In May of 2015, a Madison man named Thomas Bacon allegedly assaulted someone in his home for eating sausage. Bacon was charged with simple assault and the person he attacked did not require treatment for his or her injuries. For an article on the alleged assault, click here.
Don’t Commit Murder in a Bullet-Proof Vest
In New Jersey, it is illegal to wear a bullet-proof vest if attempting to commit murder, manslaughter, robbery, sexual assault, burglary, kidnapping, criminal escape, or assault. It is also illegal to use the vest if fleeing after attempting one of the previously stated crimes or if beginning the crime. The charges for wearing a vest may be enough to push your offense from third to second degree.
What would anyone do with $200,000 worth of cheese? Veniamin Balika must have had some idea when he falsified documents to drive away in a refrigerated truck with over 42,000 pounds of Muenster cheese from K&K Cheese. While the cheese was from Wisconsin, the accused and his Muenster-loaded vehicle were apprehended in New Jersey in March of 2013. The cheese couldn’t be returned to K&K because they were unsure as to whether or not the product had been compromised. If the food’s quality proved to be okay, officials said the cheese would be donated to charity.
When the electric company came to shut off his power due to an outstanding balance, Robert Vazquez allegedly assaulted the electric company employee. While the attack sounds strange enough, the weapon used makes this crime even more unusual: Vazquez used a medieval mace, a weapon made of a long wooden handle and two spiked metal spheres. The physical attack left the employee unconscious until he awoke bloodied, drove to a precinct, and attempted to explain what happened to the cops.
Keeping Car Dealers in Check
In New Jersey, it is forbidden for car dealerships to open or sell cars on Sunday. If a dealer sells a car on Sunday and it is their first time, it would be considered a disorderly persons offense and punishable by a fine of up to $100 and/or up to 10 days in jail. If the person continues to commit this offense, the punishments increase and their dealer’s license may be revoked or suspended.
An Elf with Rosy Cheeks
In December of 2014, a Riverdale police officer found 23-year-old Brian Chellis asleep behind the wheel of his running van with an open can of beer beside him. The van was parked near the loading dock of a local Target with the music blasting and the lights on. Once the officer woke up Chellis and turned off the engine, he noticed the man’s strange attire: Chellis was wearing an Elf on the Shelf costume and his breath smelled strongly of alcohol.
While we hope you found these facts and stories funny or interesting, we know going to jail is no joke. If you or someone you know needs help posting bail, Chance BailBonds is here to help. Call us today at 732-984-4101 for bail bonds anywhere in New Jersey.